Skynet

This past weekend, I am a little embarrassed to admit, I watch the entire first season of Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles on Hulu. I didn’t mean to. It is just one of those things that happen. Last week I declined a commission from a non-profit company in Chicago (because the deal was not a good one), and I told myself that I needed to take the weekend to relax (a novel idea for theater practitioner, I know). Thus, nine episodes of Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles.

A few months ago, maybe a year, I first learned about CERN, and like any normal slightly-nervous person who overthinks things too often, it made me jumpy. A mile-long machine that will replicate the Big Bang that has the potential to either create a blackhole or rip into another dimension? No thanks. But today, beneath the hills of Switzerland, it was turned on:

The transformative effect of this research will be to understand the world we live in much better,” said Gordon, at Brookhaven National Laboratory. “It’s important for just who we are, what we are.”

What I find interesting is that if you take out “research” from the above sentence and replace it with “theater”, I’ve heard this quote time after time from the people I have been working with. Of course, you’d have to take out “Brookhave National Laboratory” too…though I suppose that could be the name of a theater in New York or Germany.

Leave a Reply

