Are you writing?

The Thanksgiving questions were the following in the following order.

1) What are you doing in San Francisco?

2) Are you still writing?

What is interesting about this is that my reply to Question 1 explained that as part of my job as the Publications and Literary Associate at A.C.T. I was in fact writing. I was writing short dramaturgical essays for our publications, as well as reconstructing (at times somewhat clumsy) interviews into informative crafted pieces. I was writing assessments of scripts I was reading for the literary department, and I was synthesizing research into a digested and digestible form for some of the artists I was working with.

“Yes, but are you writing?”

Occasionally I would dodge the question just a bit and explain about this blog, but what a blog is and how a blog fits in between the cracks of writing (is a blog, for example, a medium or a genre?) is a bit hard to explain, and frankly I’m not sure I know what my intentions are for this online experiment other than to communicate with friends and family without having to actually pick up a phone.

“Well, I write my thoughts down on theater on a blog…oh, but I also talk about superheroes a lot, oh and sometimes some recent scientific discoveries, oh and occasionally some pop culture stuff…”

“What’s the connection?”

“Oh…um…you know…”

What is the connection between my fascination with mythology and my interest in theater? Or, more to the point, why am I interested in theater in the first place? Why theater? I have probably been dodging this question for way too long.

“Are you still writing?”

No, is the simplest answer the question they are trying to ask: no, I am not working on any plays right now. After dropping my commission back in September, I excused myself by saying I was taking a sabbatical, which is a fancy way of saying that I got tired, which is a less offensive way of saying that I got lazy. I started a play about a month ago blending together the question “What would happen if a Superman-like character landed in a less idyllic rural Kansas” and spousal abuse in which the husband is the victim (happens more often than you would ever believe).

But writing plays is hard, and it takes a discipline that I have not even begun to master.

Leave a Reply

