My Perfect Five-Year Reunion

People don’t change unless they go crazy.

–my old/new buddy Matt Labouvie, who has not changed but remains crazy

My five-year reunion happened recently. I don’t know exactly when. I didn’t really pay attention because I knew I wasn’t going to go because I had no a) interest and b) money. But this guy I knew from college is now a consultant (i.e. “corporate problem solver”) and is spending Mondays through Thursdays in San Francisco until the second week of June (so goes the wacky life of a consultant). There are a few people I knew in college who live here, some even from elementary school, and I’m sure that there are a lot more that I don’t even realize are here, but when this dude sent me an email and said he’d be around, there was no hesitation: we made a date.
This was my first solo outing with an unmarried, straight, non-theater-practitioning male in a while (since Summer of 2007, to be exact), and I had forgotten how different those conversations go. I won’t go into details. I’m sure whatever you’re imagining is probably close enough (though please keep in mind that we are both gentlemen!). We didn’t have any conversations about sports, but that is only because when one almost made the mistake of starting I made it immediately known that no dialogue on this topic would be possible, though he would be welcome to monologue about it (if he wanted to run the risk of suddenly finding himself soliloquizing).
I joke, but it was a really fun time, one I hope to repeat in the weeks to come. He didn’t go to the five-year reunion either, though he is in touch with enough people to have gotten the rundown (it was apparently kind of lame). THIS was our five-year reunion.
A lot has happened in the five years since graduating from undergrad. In fact, all of the current major elements of my life—except for Rachel and family—got their start since then: I got cats, I started focusing on theater, I started teaching, I wrote some decent plays, I began dramaturging, I joined LMDA, I high-tailed it out of academia, I interned at two great theaters, I moved to Chicago, I made dear friends in Chicago, I moved to San Francisco, I got a job in San Francisco, I got engaged. If my life were a play, May 2004 would have been the end of Act I. Pretty remarkable to think about.
If I had been responsible enough to make a five-year plan back in May 2004, I would like to think that the final bullet point would have been about me meeting up with this old friend at my favorite little bar in San Francisco, the Rite Spot Café, telling him about my recently started career in professional theater, Rachel, and our two ridiculous pets.

Leave a Reply

